Welcome to the One Page Poetry Circle at St. Agnes Branch Library!

The One Page Poetry Circle met on November 10 to discuss Poetry and Clothes.

Abigail opened the circle by reading Thomas Hood’s Victorian protest poem, “The Song of the Shirt”: “With fingers weary and worn,/With eyelids heavy and red,/A woman sat in unwomanly rags,/Plying her needle and thread.”

Roger read Robert Louis Stevenson’s “Winter-Time” describing a child’s joys of cold weather, “When to go out, my nurse doth wrap/Me in my comforter and cap;/The cold wind burns my face, and blows/Its frost pepper up my nose.”

Phil read Jenny Joseph’s “Warning” with its depiction of a woman who looks forward to being old and doing as she wants, “But maybe I ought to practice a little now?/So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised/When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.”

Karen read Victoria Redel “Bedecked” wherein the narrator describes her son who wears scarlet nail polish and “toy store rings he clusters four jewels to each finger.” At the end she addresses the reader, “Now try to tell me – man or woman – your heart was ever once that brave.”

Hazel read “Richard Cory” by Edwin Arlington Robinson which portrays an elegant, rich man, “A gentleman from sole to crown,” who behaves unexpectedly, “And Richard Cory, one calm summer night,/Went home and put a bullet through his head.”

AnnaLee closed the circle with Liam Rector’s perfect portrait that we all recognize, “Fat Southern Men in Summer Suits”: “Suspenders and all, and I lean into the sweat/(Right down to where the weather really is)/Until it has entirely soaked through my jacket.”

Katherine couldn’t attend, but emailed us “What the Living Do” by Marie Howe which concerns the speaker’s reconciliation with her grief, “I’m gripped by a cherishing so deep/for my own blowing hair, chapped face, and unbuttoned coat that I’m speechless:/I am living. I remember you.”

We want to thank those of you who posted poems about clothes on our blog. Read them here and make your own comments or make a post yourself by clicking the speech balloon to the right of the date of this post (in the left column).

We look forward to our next OPPC on December 8: Poetry and Marriage. This will be the last in 2015, but 2016 will find us back again.

Bring a poem of a known poet. Bring a friend. And widen the circle!

Fall Schedule:
December 8: Poetry and Marriage

Spring Schedule:
February 9: Poetry from Afar
March 8: Poetry and Science
April 12: Poetry and Identity
May 10: Poetry and Failure and Success

Abigail Burnham Bloom and AnnaLee Wilson

The One Page Poetry Circle is sponsored by the New York Public Library and is open to all. St. Agnes Branch Library is handicap accessible.

