OPPC_Dec09_DrinkWe wind up our fall OPPC schedule during the holiday season, when some people use alcohol to make merry and others drink to get through it all.

In these famous lines from “The Rubáaiyáat of Omar Khayyáam,” a Persian poet from the 11th century exalts wine and poetry as essentials of life:

A Book of Verses underneath the Bough,
A Jug of Wine, a Loaf of Bread—and Thou
Beside me singing in the Wilderness
Oh, Wilderness were Paradise enow!

While 900 years later Dorothy Parker (although there is some question as to the attribution of the poem) pokes fun at overindulgence:

I wish I could drink like a lady
I can take one or two at the most
Three and I’m under the table
Four and I’m under the host.

In a less humorous treatment of drinking, Theodore Roethke laments its consequences when he addresses his father in these lines from “My Papa’s Waltz”:

The whiskey on your breath
Could make a small boy dizzy;
But I hung on like death:
Such waltzing was not easy.

Whether you celebrate drink or show alcohol’s darker side, we invite you to post your favorite poem on the subject.

