YouthPostcardThe One Page Poetry Circle will meet on November 12 to discuss Poetry and Youth. Many people see youth as an ideal time when a person is older than a child but without the cares of adulthood. We understand George Bernard Shaw’s comment, “Youth is wasted on the young.” As we grow older we often look back on our youth with nostalgia. John M. Ridland expresses this sentiment in his two-line poem, “Age Looking Back at Its Youth”:

We had so little, yet we had so much:
Thunder and lightning at the lightest touch.

But perhaps when we are old we misremember youth as Stanley Kunitz describes in “I Dreamed That I Was Old”:

I dreamed that I was old: in stale declension
Fallen from my prime, when company
Was mine, cat-nimbleness, and green invention,
But time took my leafy hours away.

My wisdom, ripe with body’s ruin, found
Itself tart recompense for what was lost
In false exchange: since wisdom in the ground
Has no apocalypse or pentecost.

I wept for my youth, sweet passionate young thought,
And cozy women dead that by my side
Once lay: I wept with bitter longing, not
Remembering how in my youth I cried.

We look forward to reading your blog entries on these poems or others of your choice.

OPPC_Poster_Nov2013Reminder:

The next One Page Poetry Circle
Date: Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Time: 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Place: St. Agnes Branch Library, 444 Amsterdam Avenue (near 81st Street), 3rd Floor
Theme: Poetry and Youth

 

